All-County Baseball Team

(Left) West Point's Hunter Persall — Player of the Year

(Middle) Fairview's Dayne Black — Offensive MVP

(Right) Fairview's Riley Carroll — Defensive MVP

Hunter Persall capped a solid career with an even better senior season.

And for that very precise reason, the recent West Point graduate is going out on top.

Persall notched Player of the Year accolades, while Fairview's Dayne Black (Offensive MVP), Fairview's Riley Carroll (Defensive MVP) and Hanceville's Michael Chandler (Coach of the Year) secured the other top honors when the 2019 All-County Baseball Team was chosen by the county's seven coaches.

Persall batted .360 with a .447 on-base percentage and a .991 OPS. He also netted 41 hits, 37 runs, 22 stolen bases, 18 RBIs, 10 doubles, four triples and one homer. Defensively, the catcher compiled a .990 fielding percentage for the Warriors, who won their third county title since 2016.

First-year coach Drew Bryson absolutely loved what he saw from Persall this spring.

"He was that spark being our leadoff hitter," Bryson said. "He was one of those guys, who when he got on, it was a run on the board for us it seemed like. He led us in a ton of offensive categories. Behind the plate, he's as good as anybody in the state. He's also as good a kid as he is an athlete. He's a player who every coach wants to have on his team.

"His character — that's why he's good both on the baseball field and the football field."

Black was a force at the plate for the Aggies, batting .379 with a 1.012 OPS.

He compiled 32 RBIs, 29 runs, 24 walks, five doubles, two homers and a triple.

Black also notched 98 strikeouts and a 1.95 ERA in 57 1/3 innings pitched. 

Coach Brandon Tidmore couldn't help but praise the senior.

"He was a huge part of what we did this year," Tidmore said. "For the last three years, he’s played a big role for us — offensively, defensively and as a leader. He’s served as that steady presence in the dugout and really showed that this year as a senior. He’s delivered in some big-time moments offensively over the course of his career. This year, he expanded on that role as a pitcher. He came full circle there as a starter that went the distance for us more times than not." 

Carroll, meanwhile, was a wall behind home plate for the Purple and Gold.

The senior sported a .986 fielding percentage (236 chances) in 173 innings and also tallied 10 assists.

"Riley got thrust in his role as a sophomore," Tidmore said. "He came in and competed well and never turned back. There's not much more you can ask for defensively than what Riley gave us. He controlled the game behind the plate. In high school baseball, you can’t really function without a pretty good catcher, and we’ve been fortunate enough to have him back there for three years."

Chandler scored Coach of the Year honors after guiding Hanceville, which finished 15-10 this season, to the second round of the Class 3A playoffs for the first time since 2015.

West Point spearheaded the All-County first team with four total selections, while Cold Springs, Fairview and Hanceville recorded two apiece. Good Hope and Holly Pond each had one.

Persall (catcher), Rylan Jones (infielder), Branson Smith (infielder) and Aubry Cleghorn (pitcher) corralled coveted spots for the Warriors, Brodie Bartlett (infielder) and Lawson Burgess (outfielder) represented the Eagles, Black (pitcher) and Jarrett Miller (pitcher) made the cut for the Aggies, and Ashton James (outfielder) and Isaac Holmes (outfielder) filled positions for the Bulldogs.

Good Hope's Matt Hancock (utility) and Holly Pond's Jacob Ring (infielder) also made the first-team cut.

The 2019 All-Area Baseball Team, which includes Addison, Cullman and St. Bernard, will be released at a later date.

See the entire 2019 All-County Baseball Team below:

Player of the Year: Hunter Persall, West Point

Offensive MVP: Dayne Black, Fairview

Defensive MVP: Riley Carroll, Fairview

Coach of the Year: Michael Chandler, Hanceville

First Team


Aubry Cleghorn, West Point

Dayne Black, Fairview

Jarrett Miller, Fairview


Hunter Persall, West Point


Rylan Jones, West Point

Brodie Bartlett, Cold Springs

Branson Smith, West Point

Jacob Ring, Holly Pond


Ashton James, Hanceville

Isaac Holmes, Hanceville

Lawson Burgess, Cold Springs


Matt Hancock, Good Hope

Second Team


Mark Dyer, Hanceville

Ephram Milne, Hanceville

Wyatt Thomason, Vinemont


Riley Carroll, Fairview


Dalton Payne, Fairview

Will Cochran, West Point

Travis Hopper, Vinemont

Zander Noblett, Vinemont


Kyler Chaney, Holly Pond

Issac Smith, Vinemont

Logan Rice, Cold Springs


Preston Bagwell, Good Hope

Honorable Mention

Malcolm Parker, Fairview

Harper Chiaranda, Good Hope

Bailey Quick, Good Hope

Alex Campbell, Hanceville

Clay Rogers, Vinemont

% Jake Winfrey can be reached at 256-734-2131, ext. 136 or at​

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

I'm an Auburn University graduate with a passion for sports, reading and diet Mountain Dew.