- Cullman, Alabama

January 16, 2013

PREP FOOTBALL: Auburn commit Johnson wins Mr. Football

By John Zenor
Associated Press

MONTGOMERY —  Carver-Montgomery High School quarterback Jeremy Johnson has accomplished one goal by becoming Alabama's Mr. Football. Now, he's chasing another and hoping to compete for Auburn's starting job.

The Alabama Sports Writers Association selected Johnson as the state's top high school player Wednesday in the closest voting in the award's 31-year history. He received 170 points to edge Fultondale quarterback ArDarius Stewart by two points. Madison Academy running back Kerryon Johnson was third with 112 points.

"My heart was beating fast, because I knew I wanted to win this award, to be the first in Carver history to ever win this award," Johnson said. "Now, I'm in the history book at Carver and it's a blessing."

The 6-foot-6, 219-pound Johnson has verbally committed to Auburn and held firm after Gene Chizik's firing and Gus Malzahn's hiring. He said coaches want him to put on 15 pounds before the season, but he's hoping to quickly contend for the starting spot in a position that nobody has nailed down the past two seasons since Cam Newton left for the NFL.

"I've got a mind-set of just playing," Johnson said. "That's what I love to do. I'm just going in to put on weight and try to win the starting position."

Johnson passed for 3,193 yards and 31 touchdowns and also rushed for 705 yards.

Carver's coach, Billy Gresham, praised his star quarterback on and off the field.

"He's a phenomenal football player and just a great kid," Gresham said. "He loves sports. He loves playing the game."

Fultondale's Stewart is an Alabama commitment who was named the Class 2A back of the year for the second straight season.

Two other Alabama commits — Autauga Academy tight end O.J. Howard (AISA lineman of the year) and Spanish Fort defensive back Johnny Cook (5A back) — won statewide awards for their classification.

Johnson was 6A back of the year while Auburn High School linebacker Rueben Foster won honors as the top lineman.

The other back and lineman award winners in the Alabama High School Athletic Association included:

—1A: Phillips quarterback Rodney Camp (back).

—2A: Tanner linebacker Fred Rich (lineman).

—3A: Midfield athlete Courtney Foy and Midfield defensive lineman Torrandine Harris made it a clean sweep for their team.

—4A: Madison County running back Jordan Chunn (back) and Dadeville defensive lineman Rod Crayton (lineman).

—5A: Pinson Valley linebacker Zach Cunningham (back).

Edgewood Academy quarterback Dylan Ingram was the AISA back of the year.

Auburn High's Foster, whose 102 votes was fourth in the Mr. Football voting, is one of the state's top recruits but hasn't settled on a college destination yet. He said Alabama coach Nick Saban visited Carver Wednesday morning and Auburn's Gus Malzahn had an in-house visit on Monday.

He said he's still considering both schools, but hasn't narrowed his choice down to finalists. Foster said he plans to announce on signing day, Feb. 6, or possibly even later..

"I'm confused right now, but I've got two more weeks to pray about it and get my head on straight," Foster said.

Foster and the other players were honored at a banquet presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.



Back/Lineman of the Year:


Class 1A Back

Rodney Camp, Phillips, 50

 George Payne, St. Luke’s, 47

 Ready Swanigan, Marion County., 46


Class 1A Lineman

Damien Davenport, McIntosh, 49

 Taylor Driggers, Brantley, 39

 Justin Lucas, Notasulga, 29


Class 2A Back

ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 69

 Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, 41

 Tywone Stewart, Reeltown, 40


Class 2A Lineman

Fred Rich, Tanner, 58

 DeMarcus Holcombe, Washington County, 53

 Jestavia Norris, Reeltown, 42


Class 3A Back

Courtney Foy, Midfield, 57

 Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, 55

 JaTevin Madison, Fayette County, 29


Class 3A Lineman 

Torrandine Harris, Midfield, 57

 Jamie Major, Piedmont, 45

 Jamarious Henderson, Dale County, 34


Class 4A Back

Jordan Chunn, Madison County, 69

 Alvin Scott, Oneonta, 48

 Toby Pee, Sardis, 43


Class 4A Lineman

Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 65

 Blake Bean, Oneonta, 42

 Ronnie Clark, Calera, 41


 Class 5A Back

Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, 53

 Joel Poe, Spanish Fort, 48

 Tyler Jackson, Muscle Shoals, 39


Class 5A Lineman

Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley, 58

 Tre Williams, St. Paul’s, 54

 Jordan Sims, Homewood, 34


Class 6A Back

Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, 65

 Racean Thomas, Oxford, 53

 Marquez White, Northview, 35


Class 6A Lineman

Reuben Foster, Auburn, 64

 Grant Hill, Huntsville, 44

 Austin Golson, Prattville, 43



Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, 170

 ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 168

 Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, 112

 Reuben Foster, Auburn, 102

 Jordan Chunn, Madison County, 97

 Courtney Foy, Midfield, 93

 Racean Thomas, Oxford, 87

 Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, 60

 Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 50

 Zac Cunningham, Pinson Valley, 47

 Tre Williams, St. Paul’s, 39

 O.J. Howard, Autauga Academy, 37