- Cullman, Alabama

November 17, 2012

County schools set new leaders

By Trent Moore
The Cullman Times

— With new school board members set to take office next month, the Cullman County Board of Education set a new board president and vice-president to lead the organization this month.

Board member Kenny Brockman (Hanceville, Garden City, Welti) will take over for Wendy Crider (Cold Springs, CARE) as board president.

“Wendy has done a fantastic job and we really thank her for her service,” superintendent Billy Coleman said of Crider’s year at the helm.

Fellow board member Chris Carter was named the board’s new vice-president.

The changeover will continue next month, when two new board members will take office representing the Holly Pond and West Point communities.

Longtime board member Steve Freeman (West Point) opted not to seek reelection, and will be replaced by Gene Sullins.

Holly Pond-area representative Danny Alldredge will also end his term this year, with James Thompson taking his place.

A swearing-in ceremony to officially welcome the two new members is set for  6:30 p.m. on Thursday, December 13.

With a countywide half-cent sales tax and referendum to give the board control over some lucrative land on Smith Lake recently passed, the new board will face a unique set of challenges deciding which areas to prioritize over the next four years.

“We’re going to look at everything and see what needs to be done, but work together as a system,” Coleman said.

In other business the board:

 Recognized State School Bus Safety Poster Contest winners:

— Brittany Osborn, Hanceville Elementary – Division 1 State winner.

— Destiny Curington, Hanceville Elementary – Division 4 State winner.

— Stephanie Burdette, Cullman Area Career Center – Division 5 CAD State winner.

 Approved minutes from October 29, 2012.

 Approved resignations:

— Edward Daryl Burnham, Part-time Teacher, C.A.R.E.

— Teresa Rodgers, CNP Worker, West Point High.

— Shirley Sowell, Assistant Custodian of Funds, Central Office (Retirement).

— Carolyn Ashley, Bus Driver, Child Development Center (Retirement).

 Approved voluntary transfers:

— Michael Gay, from temporary teacher (maternity leave), Parkside; to teacher, Parkside (Replace: Audra Knop position).

 Approved appointments:        

— Tammy Foust, Special Education Aide, Holly Pond Middle.

— Tiffany Hinkle, Special Education Aide, West Point Middle (New Unit).

— Jeremy Ferrell, Computer Technician, site to be determined (New Unit).

— Shane Martin, Computer Technician, site to be determined (New Unit).

— Stephen Chandler, Technology/Computer Lab Teacher(part-time), Garden City.

— Danny F. Day, Part-time Aide, C.A.R.E.

— Martha Denise Smith (eff. 10/30/12); Micalla LaShelle Pentecost (eff. 10/30/12); Tammy E. Tilley (eff. 10/30/12); Gidgett Overton (eff. 10/30/12); April Shadix (eff. 9/4/12); Stacey Gardner; Troy McMickens.

 Approved September bills and salaries.

 Approved maintenance departments public works projects:

— Cullman Area Career Center-Canopy System, $3,770.

— Cold Springs Elementary-Canopy System, $5,250.

 Approved out-of-state field trip request fromVinemontHigh School, November 18, 2012 (Sunday) to University of Tennessee for Varsity & JV Volleyball Teams to Tennessee vs. LSU Volleyball game. Trip takes the place of a banquet.

 Approved a request from Good Hope High School to pay Coach Matt Heaton a football supplement of $1,300.

 Approved a request from Fairview Middle School to pay Linda Chapman $500 for additional duties to assist with school readiness.

 Approved a request from HHS to pay school employees as gate workers for football playoff games, as needed.

 Approved a request from FHS to dispose of old television sets and technology equipment.

 Approved a request from FHS to construct a new concession stand/pressbox with local school funds.

 Granted approval to pay Shirley Sowell for 12 days of earned annual leave.

 Approved for teachers to use BBVA Compass Rewards cards for $300 classroom instructional supply funds.

Trent Moore can be reached by e-mail at, or by telephone at 734-2131, ext. 220.