- Cullman, Alabama

March 3, 2013

NARCOG changes bylaws to reflect new power structure

By Ashley Graves
The Cullman Times

DECATUR — Members of the North-central Alabama Regional Council of Governments amended a portion of its bylaws this week to reflect the board’s newly established composition.

It was a move Lawrence County Commission Chairman Bobby Burch requested be made early during the gathering Wednesday, “for the purpose of the meeting.”

In order to get Morgan County back to the organization, the old board, composed of 40 members, made a compromise at its January meeting to reduce the number of those voting to 14. The move allowed Morgan County to regain 50 percent control of NARCOG. Before, the bylaws had given Cullman County the majority of votes due to having the most municipalities.

Now, the new 7-4-3 membership puts voting power back similar to the way it was several years ago when population decided the number of votes each county is entitled to on the board.

“The NARCOG board of directors should consist of not more than 14 members, and shall represent local governments,” Burch said while reading over the amended portion. “Cullman County should have four (votes), Lawrence County should have three, and Morgan County should have seven.

“Representatives should be appointed by the county chairman or the county commission of each county,” he continued.

Cullman County’s four voting members include Associate Commissioner Stanley Yarbrough, Associate Commissioner Darrell Hicks, Chairman Kenneth Walker, and Cullman County Mayor’s Association Chairman Johnny Dyer, who is the mayor of Baileyton.

Yarbrough, who also serves as NARCOG’s board chairman, said the remaining sections of the bylaws would be voted on at the organization’s next meeting in March.

Ashley Graves can be reached by phone at 734-2131, ext. 225, or by email at