- Cullman, Alabama

May 14, 2013

City schools nominated in 4 categories for Ala. tech achievement

By Trent Moore
The Cullman Times

CULLMAN — After being named one of the most technologically innovative school systems in the nation last year, a handful of Cullman City School employees are now in the running for major state awards.

The system has personnel nominated in four of the six categories of the Alabama Education Technology Association’s (AETA) annual Chiquita Marbury Technology Innovation Awards.

Superintendent Dr. Jan Harris, technology coordinator Nathan Anderson, Cullman Primary School Principal Tricia Culpepper, and Cullman Middle School teacher Linda Bean are all nominated in their respective categories.

Each category has three nominees, honoring innovators at every school level and the central office. This is the first time a Cullman City Schools employee has ever been nominated.

Harris said she is not surprised to have the system so well represented in the competition, and credited the commitment to technological innovation at every level for the several nominations.

“I am pleased, but not surprised, that CCS has four finalists in the prestigious Marbury Technology Innovation Awards program,” she said. “Our district has been recognized at the national and state level because of our commitment to excellence in teaching through the immersion of technology. As such, the student achievement outcomes realized in CCS have been noteworthy.”

Anderson, who coordinates the system’s technology agenda, credited the staff and administrators for buying in completely to the technological plan, which has included everything from tablet learning to a 1:1 laptop initiative.

“Having four finalists represented out of six categories speaks highly of our school district’s commitment to 21st century learning,” he said. “We have great educators and leaders who are dedicated to differential teaching through the use of the latest technology.”

The winners will be decided by an open, online vote. Anyone with a connection to the education industry is encouraged to participate at the agency’s website ( The deadline to vote is this Friday.

* Trent Moore can be reached by e-mail at, or by telephone at 734-2131, ext. 220.