- Cullman, Alabama

April 8, 2013

Cullman chapter of Daughters of the Confederacy part of new reorganization

Nathan Bedford Forrest Chapter 2410, United Daughters of the Confederacy

CULLMAN — Nathan Bedford Forrest Chapter 2410, United Daughters of the Confederacy, hosted a reorganizational meeting March 30, which was led by Kay Gamble Neel of Cullman and Lynda Thrower Lowery of Heflin. Neel currently is a member of the Joe Wheeler Chapter 291 of Decatur and serves as historian. Dr. Lowery is president of the Major General Patrick R. Cleburne Chapter 2632, and she is also former Alabama Division UDC President 2010-2012. The meeting was held at McGukin Civic Center in Cullman.

Membership of four current members of the Nathan Bedford Forrest Chapter were renewed at the March 30 meeting: Martha Heaton Al-Dijaili, Jane Pass Longshore, Joan Pass Ellis and Tracy Lee Hamrick.

Three members of this chapter have completed their reinstatements: Peggy Payne Brown, Laree Brown Kennedy and Gladys Loraine Camp Scott. Other former UDC members in the Cullman area are also reinstating their memberships in the Nathan Bedford Forrest UDC Chapter.

A large number of women are actively preparing their UDC applications at this time. Two, Janice Stansell Young and Karen Lynn Powell, have completed their applications to be submitted to the Alabama UDC Division Registrar. Some of the others who are now finalizing their applications to become members of this Cullman Chapter include Wanda Graves, Sandra Holmes Hipp, Nancy Scott, Brenda Link, Juanita McQueen, Susan Ford, Julie Burks and Amanda Farmer.

The Nathan Bedford Forrest Chapter of Cullman was organized Sept. 9, 1976, and was chartered Jan. 10, 1977, with 21 members. Flora Williams Edmonson was the first chapter president. For several years following 1977, this chapter was successful in many accomplishments to meet their five objectives: Memorial, historical, benevolent, educational and patriotic. A very notable accomplishment was the 1980 erecting of a monument on the south lawn of the previous Cullman County Courthouse.