- Cullman, Alabama

September 7, 2012

President Obama honors local as outstanding early-career scientists

Office of Press Secretary/The White House

CULLMAN — President Obama honors local as outstanding early-career scientists

President Barak H. Obama today named Valerie Horsley of Cullman as one of 96 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

Ms. Horsley is at Yale University’s Department of Health and Human Services. She is married to Matthew Rodeheffer and they have two daughters, Avery, 5, and Evelyn, 1. She is the daughter of Charlotte Jacobs of Cullman and the late Larry Horsley. Her grandparents are Dean Jacobs of Cullman and the late Woodrow Jacobs and the late Rev. Dave and Lela Horsley.

"Discoveries in science and technology not only strengthen our economy, they inspire us as a people." President Obama said. "The impressive accomplishments of today's awardees so early in their careers promise even greater advances in the years ahead."

The Presidential early career awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation's goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy. The recipients are employed or funded by the following departments and agencies: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of the Interior, Department of Veteran Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the National Science Foundation, which join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America's preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.